This week I was diagnosed with cancer in my kidney. Originally my urologist said the latest protocol is to try chemotherapy first and then take the kidney if necessary. Now he wants to take the kidney and decide if I need chemo on what he finds during the surgery. I am 75 years old if that is pertinent. What determines the order of chemo/surgery?

I am a nephrologist and do not have any expertise in the surgical or medical management of kidney cancer.  I suggest that you continue to consult with your urologist.  A urologist is a surgeon and has expertise with management of kidney cancer.  

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Kidney Cancer, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.