I have so far been to a cardiologist and endocrinologist with all the symptoms of pheochromocytoma, but through tests and imaging, that has been ruled out. I do have 2 masses in my kidneys, one about a cm, the other about 3 cm. Could it be causing these symptoms or could it be a paraganglioma somewhere else in my endocrine system they’re missing? The worst symptoms are the secondary hypertension episodes and the bad taste at the back of my throat. The episodes are debilitating.

I am not able to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  Episodic hypertension can be seen in other situations than pheochromocytoma.  For example, ischemic heart disease can present with episodes of hypertension.  We also see episodic hypertension with certain cold medications and nasal sprays.  We see episodic hypertension with emotional disorders such as panic disorder and acute anxiety.  We also see episodic hypertension with carcinoid syndrome and diabetes or Parkinsonism with autonomic neuropathy.  I cannot provide a diagnosis for the small masses in your kidney.  I am not sure how they could contribute to episodes of hypertension.

I can only suggest that you continue to consult with your physicians and have ongoing monitoring of your blood pressure.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.