Hi I have wanted to donate a kidney for years. I was diagnosed with stage 1B squamous cell lung cancer in 2012. The left upper lobe was removed and I had one dose of chemo which almost killed me. It will be 5 years on Aug 20 2017. Can I donate a kidney or is it to risky? My age is 58 yr old female otherwise in decent health.

It is unlikely that you could be a kidney donor with a history of lung cancer.  It is your right to offer to donate, and each and every transplant center determines who can and cannot be a kidney donor.  There are no nationwide guidelines that are accepted by all transplant centers.  Hence, you could offer to donate, but with a history of lung cancer, I do not think most centers would be interested in offering you the chance to be a kidney donor.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Living Donation, Symptoms and Side Effects, Transplantation, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.