I am a healthy 24 year old white male taking 1 gram of Valtrex/day for the last 18 months. I have no symptoms but on a routine blood test my kidney functions were Cr of 1.87, BUN of 27, BUN/Cr ratio of 14 and a eGFR of 49. Urinalysis shows no protein. I discontinued Valtrex 5 days ago and will have a second blood test plus a 24 hr urine collection. My question is: is increasing intake of fluids and possibly consuming cherry juice as it’s done for gout help my kidneys recover from crystal deposition? I have no medical problems, my BP is 110/70.

The testing that you describe, if it remains abnormal for more than 3 months, does suggest that you have chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  If you have chronic gout, this can cause CKD.  Increasing fluid intake and cherry juice should avoid dehydration, and may be of some benefit with gout.  I do not have an explanation for your CKD.  I suggest that you contact your physician and discuss your concerns with him or her.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.