I have a family history of CAD, hypertension and kidney failure. I am 40 year old, normal weight, non-hypertensive, non-smoking, non-drinking female taking only levothyroxine for my thyroid. All of my labwork is within normal range except my GFR, which is 59. What does this mean for my kidneys?

Normal kidney function is to have an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) greater than 60 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared. I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  This may be mildly abnormal.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with your primary care physician (PCP).  I also recommend that you have urine testing for chronic kidney disease (CKD) that includes blood, protein and testing for infection.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.