I have a kidney eGFR was 38. Then prescribed Metformin 500 mg 1in morning. Now my eGFR is 27. I think it’s because of metformin? Is it possible?

Metformin is a drug used to treat diabetes and should not be used with an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) less than 30 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  Metformin may cause liver injury with a low eGFR but does not cause kidney injury.  I do not believe that Metformin cause a reduction in your kidney function.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with your primary care physician (PCP) or your nephrologist.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.