I underwent a nephrectomy on April 3 whereby my left kidney and large tumor was removed. I have had a number of blood tests since then and have noticed that my BUN and creatinine are not within normal ranges BUN (35) creatinine (1.70) and my egfr is currently (June 13,) at 40. Should I be concerned at this point? I assume that without one kidney it would be low.

After undergoing removal of a kidney, your kidney function tests will be abnormal and the estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) will be low.  After removal of one kidney, I would expect the eGFR to be in the range of 50 to 70 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  I cannot explain why it is down to 40.  I suggest that you discuss this with your physician.  I also recommend that you have testing of urine for blood, protein and infection as you followup your kidney testing.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrectomy / One kidney, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.