Hello, I’m concerned about my lab work over the past couple of years, but none of my doctors have made note about this themselves. My levels aren’t terrible and just outside of normal range (below), but it still strikes me as odd. I don’t have high blood pressure. I don’t have foamy urine although it can sometimes be dark yellow/orange-ish which I know can be normal. I drink a lot of water but I only urinate on average about 3 – 4 times per day. I’m fatigued all the time but I also have fibromyalgia. I have under-control hypothyroidism but my levels are normal (levothyroxine). I take Junel, Wellbutrin, Ranexa, Metoprolol, and Levothyroxine. As mentioned, my legs are often restless. 12/7/15: Creatinine was 1.12, Bun was 12, EFGR was 57.28 5/18/16: Creatinine was 1.01, Bun was 14, EFGR was >60 2/28/17: Creatinine was 1.09, Bun was 14, EFGR was 59 6/15/17: Creatinine was 1.12, Bun was 15, EFGR was 56.70 Should I follow up with my doctor about this? They’ve never mentioned my levels.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis of chronic kidney disease (CKD) based on the information that you present.  The kidney function testing that you mention are all borderline abnormal and may not indicate true CKD.  I do recommend that you have urine testing for blood, protein and infection in addition to blood testing.  I recommend that you discuss your concerns with your physician.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.