A year ago I had surgery and the surgeon ran very extensive blood work. As I read the lab work, there was a notation about Kidney Disease, and my lab levels. When I asked my Family Doctor, he said that there is nothing to be concerned about and he would repeat the tests in six months. Once again the lab tests didn’t meet the 60 indicator. Again he said it was nothing, but when I was leaving the office, I noticed he had diagnosed me with, Chronic Kidney Disease, level 1. I don’t know if I should be attempting to prevent my kidneys from progressing in disease. I had a cousin that I was close to, and he suddenly became really ill, was diagnosed with kidney disease. He quickly developed diabetes. He began dialysis but died after a few months.

I cannot make a specific diagnosis of kidney disease based on the information that you present. I suggest that you discuss your concerns with your physician.  Since you have a family history of chronic kidney disease (CKD), you should be screened annually for CKD.  This should include urine testing for blood, protein and infection.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.