I was diagnosed with end stage renal failure. After doing dialysis for only 3 months, I quit because my quality of life (money, lifestyle). It made me feel I would rather have 2 weeks of making memories for my friends. 2 months later I am more active then before the dialysis. Am I near the end of the road still?

I am not able to offer a prognosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  Since you were on dialysis for only a short time, it is important for you to consult with a nephrologist who knows your history and can examine you, in order to answer your question.  I suggest you consult with your nephrologist.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, End of Life Issues, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.