I have a double ureter in the left kidney. My mother had her left kidney removed when I was approximately 7yrs old. When I was 13 or 14 a doctor told us I had three kidneys also (same doctor). Now I believe mother only had two and the left one also had two ureters but the top ureter did not function properly.

It is certainly possible that you are correct.  These abnormalities are likely problems that you are born with and are known as “Congenital Abnormalities of the Kidney and Urinary Tract” also known as CAKUT.  These problems are usually addressed by a urologist. I suggest that you discuss these findings with a urologist.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Hydronephrosis and Hydroureter, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.