My BUN level in Dec 2016 was 23 (range is 8-27). In June of this year it was 30. My microalbumin/creatinine in Dec. 2016 was 74.7 (range is 0.0 – 30). Is there food, supplements or medications that will lower these two levels? I am Type II diabetic but I am not on insulin. I have Stage 3 CKD

In general, patients with elevated microalbumin in the urine should be treated with either an Angiotensin Converting Enzyme Inhibitor (ACE-I) or an Angiotensin Receptor Blocker (ARB) agent.  This would be the standard treatment for your diabetic kidney disease.  I suggest that you discuss this with your physician.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.