Hello Dr. Spry, I was diagnosed with FSGS in 2014 after a routine labwork showed diminished kidney function. Creatinine levels have remain between 2.1 – 2.4 for the past 2 yrs, with kidney function between 35 – 40. Currently taking BP medications with avg reading of ~135/88. My only other ailment is my cholesterol being high, but so far I have not been able to tolerate the statin medication my doctors have provided me. I’m 37 yrs old and need to know what happens next? What steps can I take to prevent kidney failure? Is there any new health technologies that provide alternative treatment for my condition? Thanks.

Currently, the recommended treatment for focal segmental glomerulosclerosis  (FSGS) is based on the kidney biopsy and subtype of the disease.  In most cases, the basic treatment is to use ACE-inhibitors or ARB agents to treat and control blood pressure.  The goal for treatment is to keep blood pressure generally under 130/80.  Treatment should also be directed at decreasing the amount of protein that you spill into your urine.  Using statins to lower serum cholesterol is also recommended but you may not be able to take this medication if your have serious side effects from statins. I recommend that you eat a healthy diet and maintain a healthy body weight. I also recommend the low salt DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

Other treatments can include immunosuppressive medications based on the subtype of the kidney biopsy.  This would have to be discussed with your nephrologist.  I suggest further consultation with your nephrologist.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, FSGS, Kidney Biopsy, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.