I have a lot of kidney stones. I also have a lot of blackberries right now, someone told me that Blackberries and raspberries cause kidney stones because of the seeds. I hate to have to throw them out. Is there truth to this?

Fruit and vegetables have greater amounts of potassium and should be helpful in preventing kidney stones.  I do not believe that blackberries and raspberries will increase your risk of kidney stones.  I suggest you drink plenty of water and follow a low salt diet.  For patients with kidney stones, I am a strong proponent of the DASH diet.   You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.