I recently was told by my new Doctor that I needed to see a nephrologist. My last blood work indicated that my urea nitrogen was 27 mg/dL. My creatinine is 1.95 mg/dL and my eGFR is 27mL/min/1.73m2. I can not get into see the nephrologist until Sept. 21, 2017. I have been trying to set this up since the beginning of June. They said they put me on the top of the cancellation list. My question is what do I do in the meantime to help myself out?

In the meantime, you can monitor your blood pressure to make sure that your blood pressure is less than 130/80.  If you have diabetes, your diabetes should be very carefully controlled.  You should follow a low salt diet with less than 2300 milligrams of sodium per day.  You should not smoke and you should follow a diet to maintain a healthy weight.  You should exercise and try to increase your activity by approximately 150 minutes per week. You should avoid non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID’s) such as Motrin, Ibuprofen, Advil, Naproxen, and Aleve. These are all the things you can do to keep yourself healthy and maintain your kidney function.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.