I have kidney disease. My creatinine number is 1.555 & my GFR is 27. I am 67 yrs old, have a kidney doctor, family doctor & cardiologist due to my family’s histories. I have high blood pressure, low blood sugar, low thyroid & last year I had surgery for a perforated bowel & dead piece of my small intestines. I have a colostomy bag (nothing is produced there), and an ileostomy bag where everything goes. I was due to have surgery tomorrow to try & put me all back together, but, found out two weeks ago about an episode with my heart during that surgery last year, & also just found out how bad my kidneys are. I am so stressed out which is NOT a good thing for what I’m dealing with. My question is, should my kidney doctor allow my surgery to happen, or should I have some kidney work done first?

I am unable to give medical advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  In this case, your primary care physician (PCP) is the best person to review your situation and determine whether you are cleared for surgery or whether further testing needs to be done.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.