Hello and sorry to bother you. I am a type 1 diabetic with a blood creatinine level of 3.54 and a urine creatinine level of 918. I have been an a low purine, low carb diet for the past 3 weeks or so. I have managed to keep my blood glucose generally under control for the past 3 weeks as well. But over the past 3 weeks my creatinine has gone from 3.11 to 3.54. I am scared and don’t know what to do? Or at what stage my kidneys are or if they failing me completely? My doctor has given me Adalat which I take unless my blood pressure is normal to low. Also my uric acid is at 6.6 and my urea is at 88. What am I doing wrong?

Once diabetes has injured the kidneys, the disease is irreversible and will cause continued destruction of the kidney function.  Short term control of diabetes and high blood pressure will not have much effect on the kidney function. I suggest that you continue to follow the recommendations of your physician.  You will also need to see a nephrologist and possibly prepare for dialysis treatments and transplantation.  Diabetic kidney disease is not a curable condition.  It can be slowed but not reversed.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.