I have been advised that I need to have a “Ureteroscopic extraction of calculus of ureter” to remove a 9mm stone that is half way between kidney and bladder. What are the complications of this and what is the anticipated recovery time. I am just trying to determine whether to wait for the proceedure until after I come back from holiday or risk having it done prior to departure. I am due to have the procedure on Wednesday and fly three days later. I hope you can help give me some information to help me make an informed decision.

The question that you ask is a urological question.  I am a nephrologist and I have no expertise in urology or surgery.  You should discuss this with the urologist who is planning on performing the surgery.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.