I will be having my first colonoscopy (routine) in a few weeks. I have polycystic kidney disease with no issues at this time. In 2009 I had a cancerous cyst removed near my right kidney and the doctor removed my adrenal gland. The surgery was successful as the cancer was contained in the cyst. I have given the doctor information on my medical history and they recommend my prep be Suprep. My spouse had a colonoscopy a few years ago and he had Prepopik which he said was very tolerable. Unless there is a medical reason I would like to have the prep Prepopik. The lady at the front desk said the doctor would decide what is best for me but I did not like her approach. I have not spoken with a doctor or nurse at this facility. Is there a reason for me not to have the Prepopik. I am thinking of canceling my colonoscopy.

In general, if your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) is normal, most colonoscopy preparations are safe to take.  Both Prepopik and Suprep contain magnesium, which is not recommended if you have an eGFR of less than 30 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  I recommend that you discuss your concerns with your physician and ask for your level of kidney function as expressed by the eGFR.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Polycystic Kidney Disease, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.