I’m having some pain on each side of my hips ( back). If I do much activity during the day, at night it is so painful. Even when I cough, I can hardly stand it. Could this be a symptom of a kidney problem?

Pain is a very unusual symptom for kidney disease.  Pain can be present with kidney stones, infection or blockage of the kidneys, but this is very unusual.  I recommend that you see your physician and be examined.  It is much more likely that pain is coming from the spine, muscles or nerves in the back.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments, Urinary Tract Infection/Pyelonephritis. Bookmark the permalink.