I’d like to know if using red ginseng after having a kidney transplant in 2000, kidney still working great, could effect my transplanted kidney? I take Prograff as my anti rejection med.

I am not aware of any research testing that has been done on the interaction between red ginseng and transplant medications.  Transplant medications are very complex and must be maintained at very specific levels in order to maintain your kidney transplant. Hence, I commonly advise against using any herbal or over-the-counter medications when you have a kidney transplant and take immune suppressing medication.  I believe that the risk is unknown and because of the importance of your kidney transplant, I would suggest that you not take any chances with the success of this kidney transplant.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Transplantation. Bookmark the permalink.