Hey, I am currently seeing a Nephrologist in my home town and I am due for a follow up appointment on August 24th. I have been tested 4 times in the past year due to high levels of Creatinine. I am a 42 Year Old Male, 6’1, 185lbs and Caucasian. My Creatinine has been tested as 1.22, 1.25, 1.11, 1.34, 1.19. I take a 5mg Lisinopril and 10mg Celexa and exercise 3 days per week. On the two tests were I scored a 1.11 and 1.19, I reduced my protein intake from 125 grams down to around, 50-75. My GFR is running in the 50’s and 60’s depending on how the Creatinine is ranging. My doctor says that I am in Stage 3 CKD. I wonder though, I have had 3 Urinalyses over the time frame but my tests always show Negative for Albuminuria and Proteinura. I have now completly overhauled my diet to manage Sodium, Protein, Phosphorus, and Potassium. Should I seek a second opinion? AM I really in stage 3 and does it matter that my urinalyses keep coming back negative? What would your advice be?

The creatinine results that you describe are within the range of variation for the laboratory testing.  The creatinine tests can vary between 0.1 and 0.15 up and down and this is just the normal variation in the accuracy of the testing.  Hence, these numbers are basically the same and might suggest that you have an early stage of chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I suspect that you are in Stage 3a CKD.  The results of your urine tests are reassuring in that you do not have blood, protein or infection that is complicating your CKD.  I would still recommend followup of your kidney function tests every 6 to 12 months.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Serum Creatinine, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.