I had my left kidney taken because of cancer. I am trying to understand how to keep my only kidney healthy. I have a couple of questions: 1. Is 45% usuage of kidney good? If I understand articles 100% is two kidneys, so 45 % should be 95 % usage of one kidney, correct? 2. My gfr is at 44.8 – is this a good number? By your chart, I am in stage 3b, but is that with two kidneys? I will have more questions down the line but these are my two for know. Thank you for your help “One Kidney Care”.

Your math is correct, but you still have chronic kidney disease (CKD) because of the removal of one of your kidneys.  Hence, your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) is normal for your single kidney, but you still are at risk for progressive kidney disease because of the loss of one of your kidneys.  The eGFR result of about 45 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared is likely normal for your single kidney, however, under our staging paradigm, you do have Stage 3b (just barely) CKD.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.