I have a family history of Polycystic kidney disorder seen only in males in my father’s side. I am the only daughter to my parents. I had taken a dip test as part of tests for checking my kidney function. Dip test showed microscopic particles of blood in my urine along with a high amount of protein. I have not yet received the results for other tests. Does this indicate anything?

Blood in the urine (hematuria) and protein in the urine (proteinuria) can certainly be seen in patients with polycystic kidney disease (PCKD), however, both hematuria and proteinuria are seen in many other diseases of the kidney and urinary tract.  I suggest that you consult with your physician for further diagnostic testing. The best test for PCKD is to have an ultrasound image performed of both of your kidneys and your liver.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Polycystic Kidney Disease, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.