I have been working with a nutritionist and one of the latest supplements recommended is Cal-Amo which is Ammonium Chloride; Betaine hydro hloride; Calcium Chloride; Calcium Lactate; Magnesium citrate; Calcium stearate. I am a stage 3 Kidney disease person, aged 78 female. Is this a safe product for me at this time ?

I have no experience with a supplement called Cal-Amo.  I am not aware of any research that has been done on this supplement in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Of the compounds that you mention in Cal-Amo, I would have some concern about Ammonium Chloride which is known to induce metabolic acidosis in patients with certain types of kidney disease.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.