I started a lower protein diet (60g/day) in April. In past month hair is thinning rapidly. Do you see this in pts on low Protein diets? There are other factors: hyperthyroid w/ Tapazole, age 73, other meds include coumadin-beta blockers, Any suggestions to counter act? Have just started scalp RX of. castor oil-coconut oil-oils of rosemary & sage. My endocrinologist okayed Biotin and Evening primrose oil if ok w/ nephrologist. I will call him, he is hard to reach

I tend to see hair loss in patients who are protein malnourished.  I am not an advocate for a protein restricted diet. Thyroid disease is also associated with hair loss.  I suggest that you follow a DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.