My twin sister and I have to to get a MRI or a CT scan to check our aorta every year or two. My sister had a MRI with contrast a year ago and the following day her right leg swelled up and it has continued and is now getting worse around her knee. I had a CT with contrast done a few weeks ago and I had bad pain in my back on the left side. Are we having issues with our kidneys. My sister has gone to emergency room but they don’ t seem to be looking at the kidney. And this all started after the MRI.

I am unable to diagnose any form of kidney disease based on the information that you present.  Magnetic resonance Imaging (MRI) contrast is not known to be toxic to the kidneys, although contrast used for computerized tomography (CT) scanning can be toxic to kidneys, especially if you have pre-existing kidney disease.  I suggest that you consult with your physician.

For more information on Contrast dye and the kidneys click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.