Daily Archives: August 25, 2017

I can’t pee. How do I know if stopped making urine?

I suggest that you consult with your physician.  If you have not been able to produce urine in over 24 hours, this must be evaluated urgently by your physician.     Advertisements

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Birth Defects/Urinary Tract Abnormalities, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing

I was recently told by the VA that I had kidney failure. I am a type 2 diabetic and have some HBP issues. My potassium, cholesterol and other tests show in the normal range. The VA wants to start me on dialysis, but I am feeling well, exercising at the gym and very active. When should a person like me start on dialysis?

Dialysis is started when your symptoms are sufficient that the risk and inconvenience of starting dialysis is worth the improvement in your symptoms that can be expected with dialysis treatments.  This is a discussion that must occur between you and … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Dialysis, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing

Honorable Dr. Leslie Spry M.D., FACP My wife done Renal Biopsy on 31st July 2017 report as under. Please medicine. Gross Description: Two light brown needle cores of soft tissue, the larger measuring 1.1 x 0.1 cm and the smaller, 0.9 x 0.1 cm. Total tissue processed. Microscopic Description: Renal cortical biopsy containing up to twenty-one(21) glomeruli, all of which are normocellular with GBM of normal thickness. The blood vessels are more or less within normal limited. The interstitium shows small faci of moderate non-specific chronic inflammation with mild tubular atrophy limited to these areas. Immunofluorescence: Immunoflurescence studies for IgG, IgM, IgA, C3c and C1q were negative. Diagnosis: Renal biopsy : Appearances consistent with non-specific mild chronic tubulointerstitial nephritis. Focal segmental glomerulosclerosis cannot be excluded. Here advise Tablet Deltacortil 5mg 6+0+6 and Cap.

Interstitial nephritis is a relatively uncommon kidney disease that can be due to infection of the kidney and can be seen in chronic gout.  It can also be an allergic reaction in the kidney.  I am unable to recommend treatment … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Gout, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

Doctor, I have been facing digestion problem for couple of month. For two weeks I have some more problem like poor sleep at night, irregular heartbeat, 10am – 5 pm frequent urine and 6pm to 11.30 less frequent urine. Irregular blood pressure 100/70 -120/80. Last week, I have tested blood creatinine test, urine RE report, urine culture report, TSH report. The blood creatinine report is 1.2, urine RE report is normal, urine culture report is normal. TSH is 7.29. I am facing the same problem, though I took no medication for TSH. Since last Friday I have been doing Yoga for 1 hrs and jogging & walking for 1 hrs, total 2 hrs exercise.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  You should be examined by your primary care physician (PCP) and have further testing.  Treatment will depend on making a very specific diagnosis.  

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

Hello doc! The calculator on this site where you input your creatinine and cystatin c level. That give the eGFR correct? I see it gives 3 different results. Which one do I go with? Also I was told if you want to know the gfr and not egfr you have to get a test done that takes few hours. It give the actual gfr correct? How would a athlete with muscle mass use this test? Creatinine levels will be a little higher correct? So would a different test be needed? My cystatin c level of 0.69 fine? Sorry for all the questions.

Recall that all of these equations are “estimations” of the true glomerular filtration rate (GFR).  The GFR is one of the ways that we estimate kidney function in individuals.  The gold standard testing (usually done for very careful clinical research) … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

I have an important question with regards to my blood pressure medications. I am an 86 year old male in stable health who suffers from stage 3B CKD with EGR values that hover between 28 to 34. Formerly, I took 160 mg Diovan, 12.5mg Hydrochlorothiazide, 5mg Monopril and180 mg Verapamil. My new GP cut the Diovan dose in half to 80mg and replaced the Verapamil with 5mg Norvasc. Wouldn’t it make more sense to keep the Diovan dose steady or perhaps increase the dose of Monopril due to their ACE or ARB action which I have heard is better for the kidneys than the calcium channel blocking function of Norvasc. Also since my blood pressure is under excellent control, why not discontinue the Hydrochlorothiazide whose diuretic function taxes the kidneys.

I am not able to give medical advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I would have two observations.  The use of both an ACE-inhibitor (such as Monopril) and an ARB (such as Diovan) together is currently not … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

I am a 67 year old man with stage 4 kidney disease . My GFR has been 24 for more than a year. I also take insulin for diabetes. I have begun to have effects of sexual dysfunction. What if anything can I do?

It is very likely that your diabetes has caused both your kidney disease and your sexual dysfunction.  Diabetes causes many problems including eye disease, peripheral neuropathy, gastrointestinal dysfunction, changes to your blood pressure, heart and vascular disease in addition to … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

My GFR test is as follows. 2013/60 – 2014/58 – 2015/60 – 2016 – 53 – 2017/44.8. I have been on Protonix and or a generic version of it (Omeprazole) for many years.. Probably 20 or more. Am I in trouble?

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis about your kidney disease based on the information that you share.  I recommend that you discuss your concerns with your primary care physician (PCP).  It is true that in some cases, medications … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments

Dear Doctor, I am from Goa, India. while browsing the internet for related information I got this, so I am sharing my pain with you. One of my friends is facing edema problem, protein loss problem and many from last 2 years. Now she is fed up of her treatment and wishes to end her life. As her friend, I am just asking and finding some information whether can I help her in sickness which she is facing by donating my organ to her to be replaced? As per my information (I am not damn sure) , her sickness directly related to kidney in which she is losing her proteins heavily. Her protein loss ratio at present is 5000. her weight is 89, age 23. Dear sir, please help and suggest me something how I can help my friend to recover soon. Thanking you Yours respectfully.

Your friend likely needs to have a kidney biopsy to find out what is the specific kidney disease that is causing her protein loss in the urine. Only by knowing the specific kidney disease, can one suggest a specific treatment … Continue reading

Posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Biopsy, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Transplantation, Treatments

Sir, acute kidney disease can be recover through dialysis? How many days does it take?

It is true that the kidneys can recover after an episode of acute kidney injury.  I am unable to give any time frame because each case of acute kidney injury is unique and the duration of recovery can vary significantly. … Continue reading

Posted in Acute Kidney Injury, Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Treatments